National Space Society header banner

« December 2007 | Main | February 2008 »

January 30, 2008

New Launch Schedule

The Space Shuttle Atlantis is scheduled for launch on February 7 at 2:45 PM EST. The seven astronauts who will fly on STS-122 are Rex Walheim, Leland Melvin, Commander Stephen Frick, Alan Poindexter, Leopold Eyharts, Stanley Love, and Hans Schlegel. The crew will install the Columbus lab onto the International Space Station and swap station resident and NASA astronaut Dan Tani with European Space Agency astronaut Leopold Eyharts.

Eyharts will not be staying very long. STS-123 is scheduled for March 11. That flight will take the Japanese Kibo module to the station and the 2-armed Canadian robot called Dextre. The flight of Endeavour will feature 5 space walks and include Eyhart's replacement. Endeavour will be commanded by Dominic Gorie. Gregory H. Johnson will be pilot. Mission specialists will be Robert L. Behnken, Mike Foreman, Rick Linnehan, Garrett Reisman, and Japanese astronaut Takao Doi. Reisman will remain on the station as a resident crew member, replacing Eyharts.

Between February 22 and March 9, i.e. between these two shuttle flights and while Eyharts is still on the station, the Europeans plan the maiden launch of their new cargo carrier called the Automated Transfer Vehicle (ATV).

Check for updates to the schedule.

Marianne Dyson

NSS member

Posted by m_dyson at 12:35 AM


Help Us Make 2011 a Successful Year

NSS Logo   
1155 15th Street NW, Suite 500, Washington, DC  20005
Tel: (202) 429-1600 -- FAX: (202) 530-0659 -- E-mail:
Direct questions about membership matters to:
NSS Privacy Policy for members, customers, and Web site visitors

Copyright © 1998-2011, National Space Society

   Powered By CyberTeams