The National Space Society vision is people living and working in space

NSS Gerard K. O'Neill Memorial Award

The Gerard K. O'Neill Memorial Award for Space Settlement Advocacy honors those individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the advancement of human space settlement. These contributions can include support and development of space settlement through communication of the vision, technical advances, basic scientific research, economic strategies and analysis, legislative and regulatory support, or education and inspiration. The award is named in honor of Dr. Gerard K. O'Neill, whose vision of human space settlement inspired the formation of the L5 Society, a founding partner organization, with the National Space Institute, of the NSS. These awards, started in 2007, are given at irregular intervals as warranted. The awards are cast in the shape of a Bernal Sphere space habitat design.

NSS Gerard K. O'Neill Award

Gerard K. O'Neill Memorial Award Winners:
  • 2010 - Freeman Dyson
  • 2009 - Peter Kokh
  • 2008 - John H. Marburger, III
  • 2007 - Harrison H. Schmitt

Join NSS button
Renew NSS button
Give NSS button

Facebook logo Twitter logo LinkedIn logo YouTube logo

ISDC 2018
Register Now
Prices rise on Apr. 15

Ad Astra Magazine

National Space Society Blog

NSS Book Reviews

NSS Credit Card

To The Stars Newsletter

Enterprise in Space

Space Is Our Future video

Bookmark and Share

NSS Logo NSS Contact Information   NSS Privacy Policy
Copyright 1998-2018, National Space Society

Updated Wed, Dec 28, 2011 at 17:06:10
Web Services by
Powered By CyberTeams